Hermosas ninfas que, en el rio metidas

SATB/piano; Editor’s Choice, J.W. PepperGarcilaso de la Vega, poet; U.S. publisher, Walton Music 1513; Duration 3:50

This is the 3rd movement of “Four Sonnets of Garcilaso de la Vega” for SATB voices; (Complete set is also on YouTube). The lyricist is the 16th century Spanish Golden Age poet, Garcilaso de la Vega, who authored this sonnet, as well as “Amor de mi alma.” He was well-educated, skilled in music (playing sing the harp and viola), and of professional training as a soldier. Garcilaso was a member of the royal court of Charles of Spain, and part of Charles’ personal guard.

Beautiful nymphs who has through the river,
living in contentment of your own
in your mansions built of shimmering stone
and upheld by columns made of glass,

for a while, put your work aside
and lift your golden heads to look at me,
and I won’t keep you one, I confide.